Command line OSX

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
stewmo
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 15:39

Re: Command line OSX

Post by stewmo »

I'm using the app Automator, (which creates Workflows for you to automate tasks), and whenever I try to run the following shell script:


/Applications/imac/Downloads/Filebot.app/MacOS/filebot.sh -rename "$1" --format {n} S{s}E{e} --db thetvdb --action test -non-strict

I get the error:

-: /Applications/imac/Downloads/Filebot.app/MacOS/filebot.sh: No such file or directory.

Am I doing something wrong? It looks to be correct (I think, I'm a bit of a noob to this sort of stuff).
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

And you never ever even tried to just open that path? It clearly says "No such file or directory" => PATH DOES NOT EXIST.

Maybe?
/path/to/FileBot.app/Contents/MacOS/filebot

But ignore that, figure it out yourself, open the .app folder, look for an executable called filebot, open the console and play with it. It's not rocket science.

You're on Mac, you see everything, I'm on Windows, I have no idea, yet I these things are so obvious... Learn how to use the console. Just ls, cd etc, execute programs. VERY BASIC.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
stewmo
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 15:39

Re: Command line OSX

Post by stewmo »

I did finally get it working after much experimentation.

It turns out I needed to use a sudo command to install the contents of the bundle. Now I can access it. I do appreciate all your help, even if I pissed you off
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

Level +1, experimenting is how you do these things, now you got basic commandline skills. ;)
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
User avatar
fry
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 16:43

Re: Command line OSX

Post by fry »

When I run FileBot I get:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: net/filebot/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
	at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
	at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247
For the record, I run Java 7 Update 65 on my machine.

Any ideas?

PS: I'm on 10.10.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

For the record, you are running Java 6.

This might help: http://www.filebot.net/forums/viewtopic ... 652#p10683
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
User avatar
fry
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 16:43

Re: Command line OSX

Post by fry »

That's so strange… my shell indeed outputs:

Code: Select all

java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-466.1-11M4716)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-466.1, mixed mode)
… despite my control panel telling me:

Image

And the latest build from Oracle won't install no matter what they say here. I guess I just have to be patient and wait until the release something that works.
srkinard
Donor
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Feb 2014, 03:38

Re: Command line OSX

Post by srkinard »

Only took 2 commands to switch Java on my 10.10 Yosemite dev box:

BEFORE:

Code: Select all

->$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-466.1-11M4716)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-466.1, mixed mode)
COMMANDS:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /usr/bin/java
sudo ln -s /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin/Contents/Home/bin/java /usr/bin
AFTER:

Code: Select all

->$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_60"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_60-b19)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.60-b09, mixed mode)
Hope this helps.
User avatar
fry
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 16:43

Re: Command line OSX

Post by fry »

A good fix. Thanks.
panda78
Posts: 38
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 18:45

Re: Command line OSX

Post by panda78 »

sorry ,
i'm trying to learn how to work with CLI using filebot.app in osx because my synology cant run filebot7filebot node cause low ram and cpu :(
I'm searching for install.sh but in my filebot.app content it isn't

can you help me ?

thxs
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

This thread is outdated.

Use brew cask:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2049
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
panda78
Posts: 38
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 18:45

Re: Command line OSX

Post by panda78 »

rednoah wrote:This thread is outdated.

Use brew cask:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2049
i have just pay for filebot on mac app store :(
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

Your contribution is much appreciated. Make sure to give me a 5-star rating. Thank you!
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
togo
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Apr 2017, 18:52

Re: Command line OSX

Post by togo »

Hi there, I'm using FileBot a while with GUI and today I wanted to test FileBot with CLI, but I'm getting
"-bash: filebot: command not found"

I have bought FileBot on Mac AppStore and I don't have "filebot.sh" in ../FileBot.app/Contents/MacOS

How can I use FileBot with CLI?

Thank you...
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22991
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Command line OSX

Post by rednoah »

:idea: Apple doesn't allow command-line tools in Mac App Store bundles.

You can install the filebot command-line tools via brew:
viewtopic.php?t=2049
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply