[FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Any questions? Need some help?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 09 Feb 2019, 03:21

shaunpichoskie wrote:
09 Feb 2019, 01:17
Activating this program is a joke, its maybe easy if you can follow there how to. But with no email attachment to copy or spot to paste the key I am starting to think this is a scam i fell for.

I've resent your licence file:

Code: Select all

09.02.2019 03:13	Delivered: [email protected][email protected] 'FileBot License (Order P6943319)' Server response: 250 OK

Note that your license file has successfully been sent to your hotmail address, and was accepted successfully by hotmail, so I know that you've got it, so if you can't find it, then you may want to read up on how to find the spam / junk mail folder in your favorite email service:

Code: Select all

08.02.2019 16:37	Delivered: [email protected][email protected] 'FileBot License (Order P6943319)' Server response: 250 OK
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Unbeliever
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 10:22

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Unbeliever » 12 Feb 2019, 10:30

Bought Filebot in Microsoft Store. Very happy for the program!!
Did receive order and receipt (MS order nr 3150199303). Have been using it since then (2018-08-11) but after a recent Win reinstall I cannot license Filebot anymore. Cannot remember how I did it the first time since I have no email with a license file...

What should I do?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 12 Feb 2019, 10:37

Unbeliever wrote:
12 Feb 2019, 10:30
Bought Filebot in Microsoft Store. Very happy for the program!!
Did receive order and receipt (MS order nr 3150199303). Have been using it since then (2018-08-11) but after a recent Win reinstall I cannot license Filebot anymore. Cannot remember how I did it the first time since I have no email with a license file...

What should I do?
You have purchased FileBot on the Windows Store, which means it's completely unrelated to this particular thread, which is about the standalone license system.

If you have trouble with the Windows Store, then it's best to contact Microsoft Support. In general, if you have purchased FileBot on the Windows Store, then you don't have a separate license file, but you can always reinstall via the Store as long as you log in with the same Microsoft account. It works like any other digital purchase on iOS / Android / Steam / etc.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Unbeliever
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 10:22

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Unbeliever » 12 Feb 2019, 11:03

Ahh, of course!

Thnx!

aziesmer
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Feb 2019, 22:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by aziesmer » 12 Feb 2019, 22:57

Posting to PM

Moebius
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Feb 2019, 16:55

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Moebius » 14 Feb 2019, 17:01

Having trouble finding PM.... will keep looking.

Splash
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 12:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Splash » 15 Feb 2019, 12:35

No license receive, i PM you thanks you! :)
Sorry for my english i'm french!

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 15 Feb 2019, 18:42

You have mistyped your email address. It's @gmail.com and not @mail.com probably. :lol:

Code: Select all

Failed: [email protected][email protected] 'FileBot License (Order P6998508)' Server response: 550 Requested action not taken: mailbox unavailable
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

LordCrumb
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Feb 2019, 15:52

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by LordCrumb » 26 Feb 2019, 16:11

Posting so I can send a PM.

Alfke
Posts: 18
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 18:11

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Alfke » 26 Feb 2019, 18:07

Activated on Windows ok.

For Linux, I got this error:

Code: Select all

(process:18308): dconf-CRITICAL **: 10:58:59.632: unable to create directory '/run/user/0/dconf': Permission denied.  dconf will not work properly.
FileBot License *edited* (Valid-Until: 2069-02-26) has been activated successfully.
Everything is working. Can I ignore the error or do I need to re-run the command line as root?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 27 Feb 2019, 02:58

1.
Looks fine to me. You probably don't want to run anything as root, unless absolutely necessary. Running FileBot as root is never necessary.


2.
Some random Linux warning message. Since it says user/0 I reckon it's wanting to do stuff as root, but no idea. You can Google dconf if you want to know what dconf does:

Code: Select all

(process:18308): dconf-CRITICAL **: 10:58:59.632: unable to create directory '/run/user/0/dconf': Permission denied. dconf will not work properly.
As far as FileBot is concerned, FileBot activated successfully:

Code: Select all

FileBot License *edited* (Valid-Until: 2069-02-26) has been activated successfully.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

bigstotty
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:36

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by bigstotty » 05 Mar 2019, 16:39

Hi
I got my license email through but it was just text so I tried creating a text file called FileBot_License_PX7166424.psm and then using cli but get a error

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ filebot -script fn:sysinfo
FileBot 4.8.2 (r5789)
JNA Native: 5.2.2
MediaInfo: 0.7.93
Apache Commons VFS: [zip, rar]
FFprobe: 3.3.7
Chromaprint: 1.4.3
Extended Attributes: OK
Unicode Filesystem: OK
Script Bundle: 2019-02-26 (r552)
Groovy: 2.5.1
JRE: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 1.8.0_201
JVM: 32-bit Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
CPU/MEM: 2 Core / 243 MB Max Memory / 15 MB Used Memory
OS: Linux (arm)
HW: Linux xxxxxx 3.10.105 #23824 SMP Tue Feb 12 16:48:50 CST 2019 armv7l GNU/Linux synology_armada38x_rs816
DATA: /volume1/@appstore/filebot/data/admin
Package: SPK
License: UNREGISTERED
Done ヾ(@⌒ー⌒@)ノ

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ filebot --license /volume1/homes/admin/FileBot_License_PX7166424.psm
License Error: Bad Signature
It's a synology rs816 email pm'd

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 05 Mar 2019, 16:58

You will find your license in text-file form in your mail box. Possibly in your spam folder if you can't find it right away.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

bigstotty
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:36

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by bigstotty » 05 Mar 2019, 17:24

No text file just the text in the email message itself

bigstotty
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:36

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by bigstotty » 05 Mar 2019, 17:27

Sorry ignore me it was attached to the other email as a file.......

.....feel kinda stupid now

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 06 Mar 2019, 05:04

Yep. The first email is from the Paddle checkout, and the second one is directly from our license system.

Both contain the same information though.

Out of curiousity, did you figure out how your copy & pasted license file is different from the working one in the email attachment?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

moblaw
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Mar 2019, 05:36

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by moblaw » 16 Mar 2019, 05:40

Also posting since I've somehow lost my license key from my inbox. Still have my paypal invoice.
Can rednoah or someone else help me with that? :-)

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 16 Mar 2019, 05:56

Please contact Paddle with your email / name / PayPal invoice so they can look up your order number. Once I have your order number, then I can find and resend the license file.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

ydoc88
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 19:55

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by ydoc88 » 23 Mar 2019, 19:58

i haven't received my license for one year. how do i pm you?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 24 Mar 2019, 05:43

PM message are enabled once you have 1 public post or more.

:!: NOTE: It's @gmail.com and not @gamil.com. I've resent your license to your correct email address. Please absolutely make sure to type your email address correctly when making an online purchase. Best to use copy & paste to copy your email address, if your browser doesn't already suggest it.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

crack1986
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Apr 2019, 10:14

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by crack1986 » 08 Apr 2019, 15:44

I need resend me the license

iconly1
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Apr 2019, 23:53

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by iconly1 » 09 Apr 2019, 00:07

it wont let me pm you. i bought on microsoft and need a key for my gui

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 09 Apr 2019, 05:18

If you have purchased FileBot on the Microsoft Store, then you can install it via the Microsoft Store. No universal license key required.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6265
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Geir
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 08:24

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Geir » 09 Apr 2019, 08:31

Hi! My license file suddenly stopped working (bought in dec 2018, running version 4.8.2). Have tried to apply the license file both on start (by doubleclicking) and while doing a rename.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 15953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 09 Apr 2019, 08:33

What does the error message say when it's not working?

Have you tried the latest release?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply