amc rename instead of copy?

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
Post Reply
labtopia
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 00:26

amc rename instead of copy?

Post by labtopia »

when using the amc script via command line on windows, how can i change it to RENAME the files instead of COPY the files to what appears to be a default within the output of TV SHOWS

i cant find information in this.

thanks!
dave
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23933
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by rednoah »

copy files:

Code: Select all

--action copy
move/rename files:

Code: Select all

--action move
But if you're seeding the move operation probably will fail.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
labtopia
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 00:26

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by labtopia »

thanks, i'll try that switch and i'm sure it'll do what i'm expecting

cheers!
dave
labtopia
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 00:26

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by labtopia »

thanks for that, it does what i need, as i have another program that sweeps the files where they should be. its therenamer but it fails on some shows i have.

thanks for the help!
n1ete
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2017, 02:43

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by n1ete »

is renaming for the same input and output folder possible?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23933
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by rednoah »

Input/Output folder must not be the same, regardless of what --action you set.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
n1ete
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2017, 02:43

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by n1ete »

so how would you archive a file and folder renaming without move or copy the files then?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23933
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: amc rename instead of copy?

Post by rednoah »

1. Process /A to /B
2. Delete /A
3. Move /B to /A

By design, the amc script organizes files. It can't (and it's not supposed to) just move in place (i.e. rename).

:idea: Note that for a computer, RENAME is just a MOVE operation where the source/destination paths just so happen to have the same folder path.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply