CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
richardk
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 03:33

CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Post by richardk »

Hi,

I am trying to run the command:

Code: Select all

filebot -get-missing-subtitles "path\to\folder in korean\"
The following message is returned:

Code: Select all

Mar 17, 2013 1:30:07 PM net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ArgumentBean getFiles
WARNING: Invalid argument
No missing subtitles
Done ?(?????)?
However, if i change the folder to an english name it works. Any suggestions?

Running this under windows 7.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23925
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Post by rednoah »

You're using the cmdline... NEVER EVER USE BACKSLASH UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOURE DOING

@see

Code: Select all

filebot -script "g:println args" "path\to\folder in korean\"

Code: Select all

[C:\Users\reinhard\path\to\folder in korean"]
You're escaping the \" thus passing in the character ". Don't do that.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
richardk
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 03:33

Re: CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Post by richardk »

Thanks for the reply, i don't think that is the issue. This is what I am doing:

This works

Code: Select all

filebot -get-missing-subtitles "E:\Drama\K-Drama\Cheongdamdong Alice"
this does not:

Code: Select all

filebot -get-missing-subtitles "E:\Drama\K-Drama\?? ??"
Although the unicode characters do not get displayed properly, the command prompt actually understands it since I can "cd" into the folder.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23925
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Post by rednoah »

Well then, \" was only the first command prompt issue. Maybe using PowerShell will solve the issue? Since it's a lot less crappy than cmd.

myscript.groovy

Code: Select all

getMissingSubtitles(folder:'''X:/韓劇''')
This works. So unicode is completely supported within the application. But passing unicode arguments in from the cmdline is a different entirely.

Maybe setting the cmdline to codepage 65001 (UTF-8) well help:

Code: Select all

chcp 65001
Maybe plus forcing UTF-8 in FileBot:

Code: Select all

-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
richardk
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 03:33

Re: CLI and Foriegn names in folders

Post by richardk »

Didn't get the original command to work, I've just created a script as you have above and it works.
Thanks for your help.
Post Reply