FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
I've searched the forums but couldn't find anything similar. I have updated to v3.4 (1467) for OS X. I am currently running OS X 10.8. I add a music file to the "Original Files" box, click Match, and then select AcoustID. That is when I get an error saying "IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": error=2, No such file or directory" Not sure what I am missing to make this work? Any ideas?
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
FileBot is using 'fpcalc' to calculate the AcoustID fingerprint. It'll need to be able to execute this program:
$APP_PACKAGE/Contents/Resources/Java/fpcalc
Maybe this is a new OS X 10.8 issue because of the new 'security' restrictions?
The chromaprint tools can also be found here. Maybe by installing that and symlinking to /usr/bin/fpcalc you can help FileBot access that cmdline tool:
http://acoustid.org/chromaprint
$APP_PACKAGE/Contents/Resources/Java/fpcalc
Maybe this is a new OS X 10.8 issue because of the new 'security' restrictions?
The chromaprint tools can also be found here. Maybe by installing that and symlinking to /usr/bin/fpcalc you can help FileBot access that cmdline tool:
http://acoustid.org/chromaprint
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
So instead of symlinking, I simply used an alias. I placed fpcalc in /usr/bin and then placed an alias in /Applications/FileBot/Contents/Resources/Java/ This seems to have done the trick. Thanks!
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 19:20
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Hi I am getting the same error. Could you help explain to me how exactly you place the fpcalc in /usr/bin? I don't really know how to do that...
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Could you check the fpcalc executable? Are permissions esp. the execute flag set properly?
Code: Select all
$APP_PACKAGE/Contents/Resources/Java/fpcalc
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 19:20
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
At the risk of sounding like a beginner (because I am)...how can I check if they are set properly? I located the fpcalc in the directory you guided me to; what do I do to check the execute flag is set properly?rednoah wrote:Could you check the fpcalc executable? Are permissions esp. the execute flag set properly?Code: Select all
$APP_PACKAGE/Contents/Resources/Java/fpcalc
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Open Terminal. cd into that folder. Use ls -l and check what flags are set. Actually Finder should use Terminal icon for exectuable files I think.
btw what archive program did you use to unpack the .app.tar.gz package you downloaded?
btw what archive program did you use to unpack the .app.tar.gz package you downloaded?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 19:20
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Okay I think I ran the flag check correctly...this is what I got back:
I don't know if this is what you were actually asking me to find...I'm very new to the command line...
Also I used the default Mac Archive Utility to unzip the Chromaprint.tar.gz package.
Code: Select all
Joses-iMac:FileBot.app josearivera$ ls -l
total 0
drwxr-xr-x@ 6 josearivera staff 204 Feb 12 03:13 Contents
Also I used the default Mac Archive Utility to unzip the Chromaprint.tar.gz package.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Well, almost, I'll need you to show me the ls -l output of FileBot.app/Contents/Resources/Java/
Code: Select all
cd Contents/Resources/Java
ls -l
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 19:20
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Is this it?
Code: Select all
total 79848
-rw-r--r--@ 1 josearivera staff 26043038 Feb 12 03:13 FileBot.jar
-rwxr-xr-x@ 1 josearivera staff 1765240 Dec 22 2011 fpcalc
-rw-r--r--@ 1 josearivera staff 1947192 Feb 12 03:13 lib7-Zip-JBinding.dylib
-rw-r--r--@ 1 josearivera staff 11116688 Feb 12 03:13 libmediainfo.dylib
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Well, that loosk good. I guess for some reason it can't find the fpcalc even though it should be able to. No way to figure this out without actually playing with it on a Mac, which I don't have.
Just do what the OP did. Put the chromaprint tools anywhere and then link fpcalc into /usr/bin
Just do what the OP did. Put the chromaprint tools anywhere and then link fpcalc into /usr/bin
Code: Select all
ln -s /path/to/fpcalc /usr/bin/fpcalc
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 19:20
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
So here is what I did:
Joses-iMac:FileBot.app josearivera$ ln -s /path/to/fpcalc /usr/bin/fpcalc
ln: /usr/bin/fpcalc: Permission denied
What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your patience in helping a beginner like me by the way.
Joses-iMac:FileBot.app josearivera$ ln -s /path/to/fpcalc /usr/bin/fpcalc
ln: /usr/bin/fpcalc: Permission denied
What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your patience in helping a beginner like me by the way.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
do as super user:
Code: Select all
sudo ln -s /path/to/fpcalc /usr/bin/fpcalc
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
I am getting the same error message concerning fpcalc using W7 64-bit. I have tried the 64bit install, the x86 install and the java web start via Chrome, all with the same result.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Check the install folder and make sure there's fpcalc.exe in there. Make sure that the installer successfully added the filebot install folder to the PATH environment variable. Open cmdline and try fpcalc and see if it works.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Fpcalc.exe is in the c:\program files\filebot folder. Using cmdline, it appears to run but the window flashes on and off so fast I can't see what it says. As for "Make sure that the installer successfully added the filebot install folder to the PATH environment variable" - I need instructions to do that.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
I just noticed my error is message is slightly different than the original post. Mine is IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": Create
Process error=740, The requested operation requires elevation
if it helps, I found this window running in the background-
Process error=740, The requested operation requires elevation
if it helps, I found this window running in the background-
Code: Select all
Mar 31, 2013 10:49:11 AM net.sourceforge.filebot.ui.rename.RenamePanel$AutoCompl
eteAction$2 done
WARNING: IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": Create
Process error=740, The requested operation requires elevation
java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: java.io.IOException: Failed to exec fpc
alc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": CreateProcess error=740, The requested operati
on requires elevation
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerGet(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.get(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker.get(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.ui.rename.RenamePanel$AutoCompleteAction$2.do
ne(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker$5.run(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker$DoSubmitAccumulativeRunnable.run(Unknown Sour
ce)
at sun.swing.AccumulativeRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker$DoSubmitAccumulativeRunnable.actionPerformed(
Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.Timer.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.Timer$DoPostEvent.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Sour
ce)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcal
c": CreateProcess error=740, The requested operation requires elevation
at net.sourceforge.filebot.web.AcoustID.fpcalc(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.web.AcoustID.lookup(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.ui.rename.AudioFingerprintMatcher.match(Unkno
wn Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.ui.rename.RenamePanel$AutoCompleteAction$2.do
InBackground(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.ui.rename.RenamePanel$AutoCompleteAction$2.do
InBackground(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
I donno, seem to indicate issues with the Windows UAC:
http://windows-exe-errors.com/windows-e ... elevation/
Couldn't care less why as it works on my Win 7. I guess you could just turn off UAC or run filebot as admin, or find some way other way to give filebot permissions to execute fpcalc.
http://windows-exe-errors.com/windows-e ... elevation/
Couldn't care less why as it works on my Win 7. I guess you could just turn off UAC or run filebot as admin, or find some way other way to give filebot permissions to execute fpcalc.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Same issue here, I get the following error on all and any files in WAV format:
IOexception: Failed to excec fpcalc: Exit code 2
Not when processing .mp3 files though, some incompatibility or what?
IOexception: Failed to excec fpcalc: Exit code 2
Not when processing .mp3 files though, some incompatibility or what?

Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Checked the fpcalc docs and doesn't say anything special about .wav files not being supported.
You can check the docs and mailing lists on AcoustID yourself:
http://acoustid.org/chromaprint
You can always send over a donation to get in touch with Lukas and have im check your .wav files what the problem might be.
You can check the docs and mailing lists on AcoustID yourself:
http://acoustid.org/chromaprint
You can always send over a donation to get in touch with Lukas and have im check your .wav files what the problem might be.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Hate to bring up an old thread but I am having the same issue as OP. I am using filebot 3.62 and I get the fpcalc error on OS X 10.8.5
Code: Select all
$ filebot -rename .
Rename music using [AcoustID]
IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": error=2, No such file or directory
java.io.IOException: Failed to exec fpcalc: Cannot run program "fpcalc": error=2, No such file or directory
at net.sourceforge.filebot.web.AcoustID.fpcalc(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.web.AcoustID.lookup(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.CmdlineOperations.renameMusic(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.CmdlineOperations.rename(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ArgumentProcessor.process(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.Main.main(Unknown Source)
Failure (°_°)

Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Are you using the .app package? Inside is there an executable .app/**/Java/fpcalc?
It should be packaged and work out of the box. But if it doesn't you just have to install chromaprint-tools (has to be in the PATH). Same solution as above.
It should be packaged and work out of the box. But if it doesn't you just have to install chromaprint-tools (has to be in the PATH). Same solution as above.
Re: FPCALC Error When Renaming Music
Can you try the latest APP package and see if it works out of the box?
https://sourceforge.net/projects/filebo ... t_3.8_RC3/
https://sourceforge.net/projects/filebo ... t_3.8_RC3/