Updating 4.9.3 to 5.1.0 and license not transfered

Any questions? Need some help?
Arkodark

Updating 4.9.3 to 5.1.0 and license not transfered

Post by Arkodark »

Hey there :)

I've been buying a licence every year since 2020 and I haven't updated the software since 4.9.3.
Today I wanted to update (to the latest version 5.1.0) but they're asking me for the licence. So I got it back in my confirmation email, but it tells me that my key isn't valid, even though I renewed it in July and version 4.9.3 is working fine.

What's more, I had edited my presets and none of them are transferred to the updated version.

This poses real problems: you pay for a licence and every time you update, you have to reconfigure everything? Was it me who didn't follow the correct process, or is this a problem that needs to be fixed?

Thank you for your help :)
rednoah
The Source

Re: Updating 4.9.3 to 5.1.0 and license not transfered

Post by rednoah »

What OS are you using? Windows? How did you install / update FileBot? MSI installer?

:idea: Your user data (including license information) is stored in the application data folder (i.e. %APPDATA%\FileBot assuming a standard Windows install) and any version of FileBot uses the same application data folder, and so all your user data will carry over by default if you update FileBot. If FileBot can't remember your settings, then that would suggest that the application data folder was deleted. That would be most unusual. The MSI installer / uninstaller does not delete your user data.

:?: What does the error message say exactly when FileBot does not accept your license key? (you can click on the error message to copy & paste the error message)

:idea: System Information would answer various questions. Please read How to Request Help for details.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Arkodark

Post by Arkodark »

Hey rednoah, thank you for your quick answer :)