http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,3908.0.html
I just thought I would point this thread out to you guys over at the flexraid forums.
Strange issues arising from using FileBot + tRaid (flexRaid)
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 19 Jul 2014, 16:34
Re: Strange issues arising from using FileBot + tRaid (flexR
Can you reliably reproduce the problem?
What's the OS?
What version? OS, Java, FileBot
filebot -script fn:sysinfo output?
Which files? Path? Drive? Filesystem? Internal or external drive? Have you checked for Filesystem corruption?
Can you reproduce or not reproduce the issue with other Java-based / not-Java-based tools?
Can you reproduce the issue with FileBot r2343?
Note that FileBot does not open/read/write any files. It merely calls Files.move() with ATOMIC_MOVE option and the JRE will probably then do a system call for that internally.
So either it's a Java bug or it's OS bug or it's a Filesystem bug, or some weird combination thereof, because all these three components just by themselves are pretty much bullet-proof, especially for simple IO operations.
What's the OS?
What version? OS, Java, FileBot
filebot -script fn:sysinfo output?
Which files? Path? Drive? Filesystem? Internal or external drive? Have you checked for Filesystem corruption?
Can you reproduce or not reproduce the issue with other Java-based / not-Java-based tools?
Can you reproduce the issue with FileBot r2343?
Note that FileBot does not open/read/write any files. It merely calls Files.move() with ATOMIC_MOVE option and the JRE will probably then do a system call for that internally.
So either it's a Java bug or it's OS bug or it's a Filesystem bug, or some weird combination thereof, because all these three components just by themselves are pretty much bullet-proof, especially for simple IO operations.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 19 Jul 2014, 16:34
Re: Strange issues arising from using FileBot + tRaid (flexR
Yes.rednoah wrote:Can you reliably reproduce the problem?
What's the OS?
What version? OS, Java, FileBot
filebot -script fn:sysinfo output?
Which files? Path? Drive? Filesystem? Internal or external drive? Have you checked for Filesystem corruption?
Can you reproduce or not reproduce the issue with other Java-based / not-Java-based tools?
Can you reproduce the issue with FileBot r2343?
Note that FileBot does not open/read/write any files. It merely calls Files.move() with ATOMIC_MOVE option and the JRE will probably then do a system call for that internally.
So either it's a Java bug or it's OS bug or it's a Filesystem bug, or some weird combination thereof, because all these three components just by themselves are pretty much bullet-proof, especially for simple IO operations.
Server is Windows 7, Networked computer is Windows 8.1.
Filebot 4.2, Java 7 Update 65
I have no idea what this means.
As detailed in the forum post I linked, but the issue is that when using filebot on computer B to change the name of a file on computer A (which is using traid) over the network, the file shows as 0kb. It can then be "deleted" and the folder refreshed to show properly. Internal drives, no filesystem corruption.
Like...?
I've had this problem with all version of filebot + all versions of flexraid I have used.
This is what I start with:

I put it in filebot:

It detects the right thing:

It renames it, I get this:

I delete that and reload the folder, I get this:

I'll gladly copy and paste your responses back and forth with Brahmin (flex raid dev) on their forum so you guys can figure it out, but this would probably go much faster if one of you kinda bit the bullet and made a account on the others forum and talked it out. I'm not saying its Filebots fault and I'm not saying it's traids fault, but clearly there is some issue using them together and it would be awesome if you two could get together and figure what it is. I put your response over in their forum and I'll keep going back and forth I guess till I see one of you in the other place.
Re: Strange issues arising from using FileBot + tRaid (flexR
I guess neither of us would know how to fix other then trying various things and see what happens. Especially if it's a Samba issue then I guess only the Samba developers could check into this. The best we can do is to see if there's a work-around.
1.
Have you installed FileBot via the Windows Installer? If yes, there is a link called FileBot and a link called FileBot (platform). Can you reproduce the issue when you run FileBot via the FileBot (platform) shortcut?
2.
You can try updating to the latest FileBot revision by replacing the jar:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/filebo ... ebot/HEAD/
3.
Have you tried running FileBot with Java 8 and see what happens?
4.
Honestly I wonder if it's some weird Windows Explorer issue on the client-side. I mean file is obviously on the server, and it has been rename correctly. It just seems to show up incorrectly on the client side.
1.
Have you installed FileBot via the Windows Installer? If yes, there is a link called FileBot and a link called FileBot (platform). Can you reproduce the issue when you run FileBot via the FileBot (platform) shortcut?
2.
You can try updating to the latest FileBot revision by replacing the jar:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/filebo ... ebot/HEAD/
3.
Have you tried running FileBot with Java 8 and see what happens?
4.
Honestly I wonder if it's some weird Windows Explorer issue on the client-side. I mean file is obviously on the server, and it has been rename correctly. It just seems to show up incorrectly on the client side.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 19 Jul 2014, 16:34
Re: Strange issues arising from using FileBot + tRaid (flexR
rednoah wrote:I guess neither of us would know how to fix other then trying various things and see what happens. Especially if it's a Samba issue then I guess only the Samba developers could check into this. The best we can do is to see if there's a work-around.
1.
Have you installed FileBot via the Windows Installer? If yes, there is a link called FileBot and a link called FileBot (platform). Can you reproduce the issue when you run FileBot via the FileBot (platform) shortcut?
2.
You can try updating to the latest FileBot revision by replacing the jar:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/filebo ... ebot/HEAD/
3.
Have you tried running FileBot with Java 8 and see what happens?
4.
Honestly I wonder if it's some weird Windows Explorer issue on the client-side. I mean file is obviously on the server, and it has been rename correctly. It just seems to show up incorrectly on the client side.
His response:
My response:As stated above, a mere move or rename will never truncate a file. What I am stating is that it is likely that the result of the move operation is never checked and that the program is carrying forward and truncating the file in another operation (likely in trying to create a new file in place of the old).
See it as this:
1. Rename C:\A.txt to C:\A.txt.backup
2. Create new file C:\A.txt (since we think or expect that the rename worked)
The creation of the new file will truncate the old existing one if specified as such.
Use Process Monitor to trace the program callbacks: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 96645.aspx
1) Yes, ummm...I all of a sudden can't replicate it at ALL. I am currently going through what I did between now and then to try to replicate the original issue again. Now, I know you are going to immediately say "Well of course that was it!" to what I say next, but hear me out. I recently uninstalled both x64 and x86 jre and reinstalled. It is possible that fixed the issue, but I have had this issue for ever on more then one computer and through different java installs, so it may just be a coincidence.
2 & 3, if it happens again, I'll start messing with it.
TBH, I don't use filebot often, I'm pretty automated over here, and it's rare I don't let Drone/Headphones/Couchpotato do their own thing. So I've just been living with it. I only even brought up this issue cause I was browsing traid forums and saw other users with the same thing. So for now, best I can say is reinstall java and see if that works. I'll see if I can get in touch with someone else that still has the issue and have them try the same.
Thanks for the suggestions though, I will keep them in mind.