Drop-down menus behind taskbar

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
leonie94
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Mar 2017, 11:46

Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by leonie94 »

Current Situation:
When clicking on a button at the bottom of the app the drop-down menus sometimes are covered by the windows taskbar. (see screenshot)

Feature Request:
Drop down menus could perform like right-clicking on the Windows 10 Desktop. The context menu opens downwards as long as it doesn't overlap with the taskbar. As soon as the menu would overlap it opens upwards.

Image

Code: Select all

FileBot 4.7.8 (r4842)
JNA Native: 5.1.0
MediaInfo: 0.7.92.1
7-Zip-JBinding: 9.20
Chromaprint: 1.4.2
Extended Attributes: OK
Unicode Filesystem: OK
Script Bundle: 2017-02-20 (r481)
Groovy: 2.4.8
JRE: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 1.8.0_121
JVM: 64-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
CPU/MEM: 4 Core / 3 GB Max Memory / 40 MB Used Memory
OS: Windows 10 (amd64)
Package: APPX
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20273
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by rednoah »

That's a toolkit issue. It'll probably be fixed by FileBot shipping with Java 9 sometime in the summer, or by some Windows update before then.

:idea: Alternatively, you can open the Rename Options by right-clicking the Rename button.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
leonie94
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Mar 2017, 11:46

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by leonie94 »

Thanks for this fast reply. That's good to hear.
And right-click works like a charm.
petebocken
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 21:44

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by petebocken »

This is still an issue. Any update on this?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20273
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by rednoah »

Probably, yes. But since it's a problem with the underlying platform (i.e. Java Swing on Windows Shell) there's little that can be done on my end.

I'll create a test case and file a bug report with Oracle when I have time.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
sachinkhanna48
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Jul 2018, 14:03

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by sachinkhanna48 »

Last edited by sachinkhanna48 on 13 Jun 2019, 11:58, edited 1 time in total.
Sachin Khanna
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20273
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: Drop-down menus behind taskbar

Post by rednoah »

rednoah wrote: 15 Apr 2018, 08:01 Probably, yes. But since it's a problem with the underlying platform (i.e. Java Swing on Windows Shell) there's little that can be done on my end.
Looks like the issue hasn't been fixed yet.

:idea: In the meanwhile, just right-click New Names on the top somewhere instead of clicking Fetch Data, and right-click the Rename button instead of clicking the Settings button. Same functionality. Always enough space below your mouse pointer.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply