XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
whietdrag0n
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:39

XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by whietdrag0n »

Hi,

I have a very strange problem. I am currently using the AMC script to rename all my file after completion in utorrnet. The script move the file from my completed directy to my TVSHOW directory and nicely organises my media.

I am running XBMC on a android based machine and have set this to SCAN my networkshare. However none of file show up in XBMC.
Here where it get a little strange.

If i manual MOVE all the renamed media from the TVSHOWS folder into another Folder and then MOVE them back they do show up.

I am currently working round this by setting FILEBOT to rename all file on complete into a temp diry and then using a VBS script to copy the files into my TV SHOW directory.

Just wondered why this was happnening and what can i do to fix it. I would like not to have to copy the files and this is just another step.

Thanks
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

No idea why xbmc doesn't see the changes. Have you setup filebot to tell xbmc to rescan everything after processing? Even if xbmc can't detect the changes it must see he new files once a rescan is forced.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
whietdrag0n
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 07:39

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by whietdrag0n »

Forced a rescan and still nothing.

Very ODD.

It strange the files show after being moved from a TEMP loaction to the TV SHOW directory via a VBS SCRIPT.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

That doesn't make sense...

Anyway, you can always modify the script and pass in your own rename function. You could do a cmdline copy for each file:

Code: Select all

rename(
   ...
   action: { from, to ->
      execute('mkdir', to.dir)
      execute('copy', '/Y', from, to)
   }
)
Or using my SHFILEOP copy engine which hooks into Windows:

Code: Select all

[code]rename(
   ...
   action: net.sourceforge.filebot.NativeRenameAction.COPY
)
[/code]
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
mpfl
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 02:23

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by mpfl »

I was having a similar issue on Windows Home Server with XBMC running on an Apple TV2. I was using Filebot to process files that had been downloaded to \\server\Downloads. It would rename and copy to \\server\Videos and then grab all the appropriate metadata. XBMC could see the new files, but wouldn't let me play them. If I manually moved/copied the files from Downloads to Videos, it would work just fine!

Turns out it came down to permissions. For some reason, a file copied with AMC keeps the permissions from the source folder and does not inherit permissions from the destination folder.

Turn on debug mode in XBMC while you do a scan and see what the log tells you.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

Yeah, but even your source folder would have read permissions right? Otherwise you use the code above to supply your own copy code.

Actually why not simply use the exec post-processing option?

Code: Select all

--def "exec=chmod a+rw \"{file}\""
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
mpfl
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 02:23

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by mpfl »

No, I have guest access enabled on the Videos folder so that my housemate can watch things on his computer without needing an account on the server. The Downloads folder was more restricted (don't want him to be able to see all the stuff I download!)

I've enabled guest access on Downloads now as a workaround, but would rather have something more elegant. I was going to try and work out /why/ using Filebot to copy preserves source permissions, whereas using Windows Explorer copy applies destination permissions.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

Not sure, I'll just make it not copy file attributes. That'll work, hopefully not have any side effects, ...
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
mpfl
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 02:23

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by mpfl »

Other people might be relying on this behaviour :-D

Perhaps a flag or a config option..?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

Neh, not gonna bother with defining how permissions are handled. I set it to copy file attributes as to keep lastModified, creationDate etc, but i think those get preserved anyway.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
KreAch3R
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 23:22

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by KreAch3R »

Hello and thank you for this wonderful program!

Should this behaviour about the attributes still exist in the latest Filebot, as of 4/2014? Because I'm having the same problem with @mpfl in a Windows XP machine. Files copied by Filebot inside a shared folder aren't viewable in XBMC or in Windows Explorer, using the other PC on the network.

I think, though, that I don't have this behaviour at my Windows 7 machine. Unfortunately, these days I am away from home to test it.

If I were to use the exec post-processing command, where should I add it? This is my current command, which works beautifully:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\FileBot\filebot.launcher.exe" -script fn:amc --output "F:/Videos" --log-file amc.log --action copy --conflict override -non-strict --def music=y subtitles=el,en "seriesFormat=Series/{n}/{'Season '+s}/{n} {sxe} {t}" "ut_label=%L" "ut_state=%S" "ut_title=%N" "ut_kind=%K" "ut_file=%F" "ut_dir=%D"
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

The "keep attributes" option has been re-enabled for FileBot 4.0 and as it seems it really causes lots of permission issues, in certain common scenarios, so it will be disabled for good with FileBot 4.1, and has been disabled with any of the newer beta revisions.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
KreAch3R
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 23:22

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by KreAch3R »

rednoah wrote:The "keep attributes" option has been re-enabled for FileBot 4.0 and as it seems it really causes lots of permission issues, in certain common scenarios, so it will be disabled for good with FileBot 4.1, and has been disabled with any of the newer beta revisions.
Thank you for the fast reply! Your reasoning seems good to me. :)

I tried finding filebot's beta versions here to test it, but I wasn't sure what I should download. I installed this, but the problem remained, so I guess I did something wrong.

tl;dr: How do we install the beta revisions?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

Not sure if that BETA1 package already contains that change. You can "install" by just replacing the .jar file, check FAQ, last entry at the bottom.

PS: Current beta builds may or may not work. Maybe next week things will be more stable again.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
KreAch3R
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 23:22

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by KreAch3R »

rednoah wrote:Not sure if that BETA1 package already contains that change. You can "install" by just replacing the .jar file, check FAQ, last entry at the bottom.

PS: Current beta builds may or may not work. Maybe next week things will be more stable again.
Oh, I didn't notice it in the FAQ, sorry. As for the beta builds, I will wait. Thank you!
null
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 09:23

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by null »

I seem to still have the same problem as a couple of the users. After a torrent is completed I run the following command:

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:amc --action move --conflict skip -non-strict --log-file "D:/amc.log" --def myepisodes=user:pass seriesFormat="<path>" movieFormat="<path>" "ut_dir=%D" "ut_title=%N" "ut_file=%F" "ut_kind=%K" "ut_label=%L" "ut_state=%S"
I run XBMC and it only recognises the files say 20% of the time. By not recognise, it can't seem to have noticed that there is a new file in the folder so it won't run the metadata scraping. It shows under the Video > Files menu though. When I use a program to modify video file's creation date, XBMC will then recognise and scrape.

Another test I've done is once the file is completed, I manually move it over to appropriate XBMC scan folder and it will recognise the new file 100% of the time. It seems as if there's something funny going on when FileBot moves the file. I've used the "--action copy" command and it does the same thing. I'm on Win 7 if that's of any use.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

1.
If you want to make it easy for Kodi to recognize your files, then you can't use custom formats:

Code: Select all

seriesFormat="<path>" movieFormat="<path>"
2.
If you want Kodi to do a rescan, then you need to tell Kodi that. There's the --def kodi option for that.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
null
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 09:23

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by null »

All I'm doing with the path is just directing it to the appropriate folder but leaving the original filename intact. Even if I remove the custom format, it doesn't change the fact that by only modifying the modified timestamp of the file triggers Kodi to detect the file.

I've got a scheduled trigger within Kodi to detect once every hour as well.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23930
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: XBMC NOT SHOWING FILES USING FILEBOT.

Post by rednoah »

Well, there's nothing FileBot can do to help Kodi see filesystem changes. It's either an OS issue, or a Kodi issue.

Watching for filesystem changes has never been very reliable. I'd force Kodi to check for updates via --def kodi=host[:port] whenever the amc script is called.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply