How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
Post Reply
themezz
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2021, 16:58

How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Post by themezz »

I have been using this command line

Code: Select all

filebot -rename -r "K:\INBOUND5" --file-filter "ext == /mkv/" --db TheTVDB -non-strict 
But I want the filename to be S01E01 instead of 01X01

I am not really sure how to specify that in the command line. I looked for the answer in the docs and the GitHub pages but cannot figure it out.

Can anyone help? Please and thank You
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23959
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Post by rednoah »

e.g. use the {plex} binding to take care of everything:

Code: Select all

--output "/path/to/media" --format "{plex}"


:idea: Please read the command-line manual for details and examples:
https://www.filebot.net/cli.html


:idea: Please use the FileBot Desktop application to get started with custom naming if you have not done so already:
https://www.filebot.net/naming.html
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
themezz
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2021, 16:58

Re: How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Post by themezz »

read all I can but I still fail!

using this

Code: Select all

filebot -rename -r "K:\INBOUND5" --file-filter "ext == /mp4/" --db TheTVDB  --format  "{n} - {s00e00} - {t}"
But I get this

Code: Select all

Chicago Med - 8x01 - How Do You Begin to Count the Losses.mp4
instead of

Code: Select all

Chicago Med - S08xE01 - How Do You Begin to Count the Losses.mp4
The {s00e00} is not working or I am missing something.

Please and thank you
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23959
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Post by rednoah »

:?: What does the console output say?


:!: If you're using {s00e00} and get 8x01 then you're not using {s00e00}, i.e. the command you think you are running is not actually the command that you are running for some reason. Alternatively, some other tool that is not filebot is also running and doing the 8x01 renames. Something along those lines. You'll want to sanity check your assumptions.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
themezz
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Mar 2021, 16:58

Re: How do I use a custom format that generates S01E01 file naming?

Post by themezz »

You are correct.
I had a batch file error where filebot ran again without the formatting I wanted.
Thanks - appreciate your time and help with my mistake.
Post Reply